ThinkApps

ThinkApps are pre-configured Session templates created by Best Practice Collaboration Engineers. ThinkApps guide Leaders through a set of pre-configured activities designed to achieve specific process outcomes. ThinkApps are engineered templates that allow Leaders to use pre-designed Sessions to achieve specific task goals.

  • ThinkApps row: ThinkApps created in the Workspace are located in the ThinkApps row. Depending on your Account Type (Leader, Thinker, Workspace Administrator), you may not see this row, or see different ThinkApps comprising the row.
    • Thinkers cannot see the ThinkApps row, as they are not allowed to create Sessions, ThinkApps, or ThinkFlows.
    • Leaders can see the ThinkApps row, if at least one ThinkApp has been shared in the Workspace. If no ThinkApps have been shared in the Workspace, then Leaders will not see this row.
    • Workspace Administrators can see both shared and unshared ThinkApps in this row.

Click on a thumbnail to display the Click to Show Preview  and Click to Create a Session from this ThinkApp  icons:

To view a ThinkApp's preview screen:

  1. Scroll to the bottom of the Home screen and expand the THINKAPPS row (if not already open).

Tip: To locate a specific ThinkApp not listed in the visible row, enter keywords, numbers, or a combination of both in the Search bar, located in the upper right of the Home screen.

  1. Click on the ThinkApp's thumbnail image.
  1. Click on the Click to Show Preview  icon, which opens the preview screen:

A ThinkApp preview screen displays the following information:

  • Plan, Background, Agenda, Outcomes: Sections that display activities comprising the ThinkApp
  • Modify ThinkApp: Enables Leaders to modify the ThinkApp (add, delete, edit activities, reorder activities, add Leader instructions, etc.) for future use
  • Download ThinkApp: Enables Leaders save ThinkApps on a local or network drive
  • Delete ThinkApp: Removes the ThinkApp from the ThinkTank workspace
  • Shared: Specifies if other Leaders can see and use this ThinkApp in the Home screen (if not shared, only the creator will see the ThinkApp)
  • Leader: Specifies the Leader who created the ThinkApp
  • Left red arrow: Returns Leader to the Home screen

From the Home screen, you can create new Sessions based on a shared ThinkApp in your workspace. When you create a new Session from a shared ThinkApp, the ThinkApp's contributions, ballot items, images, etc. are also included in the new Session.

To create a Session from a ThinkApp:

  1. Scroll to the bottom of the Home screen and expand the THINKAPPS row (if not already open).

Tip: To locate a specific ThinkApp not listed in the visible row, enter keywords, numbers, or a combination of both in the Search bar, located at the upper right of the Home screen.

  1. Click on the ThinkApp's thumbnail image. Two icons display at the bottom of the thumbnail image (Click to Show Preview and Click to Create Session from this ThinkApp).
  2. Click on the Click to Create Session from ThinkApp  icon. Depending on the size of the ThinkApp, it may take several moments for the new Session to open.

Note: While in the Session preview screen, you can also publish a Session as a ThinkApp. For details, see Publish Session as a ThinkApp.

You can modify a ThinkApp that you have created. You can modify a ThinkApp after opening its preview screen. See the section above for instructions on opening the preview screen.

If you already have the ThinkApp's preview screen open, proceed to step 3 below.

To modify a ThinkApp from the Home screen:

  1. From the Home screen, click on the ThinkApp's thumbnail image. Two icons display at the bottom of the thumbnail image (Click to Show Preview  and Click to Create Session from ThinkApp ).

  1. Click on the Click to Show Preview  icon, which opens the ThinkApp preview screen.
  1. Click on the Modify ThinkApp  button.
  1. The ThinkApp opens, which may take several seconds if it contains multiple, and/or complex activities. Make the appropriate changes to the Session settings, activities, permissions, etc.
  2. Click on Save. The Save ThinkApps dialog box opens and enables you to select the information included in the ThinkApp:
  • Shared: Makes your ThinkApp public and shares it with other Leaders in your ThinkTank Workspace
  • Contributions: Ideas, categories, and entries made by Thinkers
  • Comments: Detailed comments made under ideas and ballot items
  • Attributions: Name tags and time stamps that label entries made by Thinkers
  • Roster: List of all Thinkers who have joined a Session
  • Documents: Documents and files that were saved to the activities in the Session
  • Vote Results: Charts and tables that display the results from any voting activities
  • Permissions: Allows you to preserve any specific changes to the permission settings of an activity (if set to No, the default permission settings are used)
  1. Make your selections and click Submit.

Workspace Administrators and Leaders can download a shared ThinkApp from the ThinkApp's preview screen, and then save it to a local drive. Currently, Session or ThinkApp .gsml files can only be uploaded or downloaded using a laptop or desktop. Due to limited processing power in iPads and other tablets and devices, the Session and ThinkApp upload and download functionality is not supported on these types of tablets or devices.

To download a ThinkApp:

  1. From the Home screen, select the ThinkApp to download, and then click on the Click to Show Preview  icon. The ThinkApp's preview screen opens.
    1. From the ThinkApp's preview screen, click on the Download ThinkApp  button. The Save ThinkApp dialog opens.

  1. In the Save ThinkApp dialog box, click on Download, and select the location to save the file. The ThinkApp is saved with a .gsml extension.

Note: For information on uploading ThinkApps to the Home screen, see Upload ThinkApps.

Only the creator of the ThinkApp can delete an unshared ThinkApp; however, any Leader can delete shared ThinkApps, regardless of the ThinkApp creator.

To delete a ThinkApp:

  1. From the Home screen, select the ThinkApp to remove, and then click on the Click to Show Preview  icon.
  2. Click on the Delete ThinkApp  button.
  3. Click on OK to confirm the deletion.

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.